Maximilian Hornung, Violoncello
25.09.2022 | 18:00 Uhr
1st Philharmonic Concert


Until a few years ago, the Polish composer Mieczyslaw Weinberg was almost unknown in German musical life. Yet the seriousness and deep emotionality of his works, which are closely linked to his biography, are impressive: Having fled the Warsaw ghetto in 1939, he remained the sole survivor of the Holocaust in his family. The Cello Concerto, composed in 1948, is wonderfully stirring in its melodicism and emotionality.

Hector Berlioz was inspired by the literature of Goethe as well as the symphonies of Beethoven to write his most important work: the "Symphonie fantastique". The focus is on the artist himself, who goes through his story in various inner states of mind. For the artistic movement of the time, Berlioz's bold "Symphonie fantastique" is a revolutionary manifesto that paves the way for the music of the 20th century.


Mieczysław Weinberg 1919‒1996

Konzert für Violoncello und Orchester c-Moll op. 43

Hector Berlioz 1803‒1869

Symphonie fantastique op. 14


Maximilian Hornung


Marcus Bosch

First guest conductor

Concert Information

The concert introduction by and with Insa Pijanka will take place one hour before the concert begins in the Philharmonic's studio.


This concert is part of the subscription Abo C This concert is part of the subscription Abo D