Stephen Hough, Klavier
16.12.2022 | 19:30 Uhr
4th Philharmonic Concert


"Let me tell you that I have written a very small piano concerto with a very small delicate scherzo." With these succinct, typically self-deprecating words, Johannes Brahms announced his second piano concerto to his friend Elisabet von Herzogenberg in the summer of 1881. What an understatement, since the concerto is nothing less than a fusion of symphonic form and virtuosic concerto character.

Based on Nikolai Gogol's story "Evenings in a Hamlet near Dikanja," Nikolai Rimsky-Korsakov created the libretto for his opera "The Night Before Christmas." Rimsky-Korsakov, who expanded Gogol's text, created a fairy tale with philosophical, pantheistic thoughts and poetic moments.

Translated with (free version)


Johannes Brahms 1833‒1897

Konzert für Klavier und Orchester Nr. 2 B-Dur op. 83

Nikolai Rimski-Korsakow 1844‒1908

Suite aus der Oper »Die Nacht vor Weihnachten«


Sir Stephen Hough


Alexander Prior


Concert Information

The concert introduction by and with Insa Pijanka will take place one hour before the concert begins in the Philharmonic's studio.


This concert is part of the subscription Abo A This concert is part of the subscription Abo C This concert is part of the subscription Abo D